Where Should I Start With Your Novels?

The link ABOVE takes you to a blog post answering this much asked question. You can find additional information on the drop down menus on this page.

To read excerpts from my most recent titles, including BLACK WOLVES, COURT OF FIVES, the SPIRITWALKER TRILOGY, and more, visit this page.


Gender swapped Alexander the Great on an interstellar scale.
On sale 7/7/2020.
For more information and pre-order

The third and final installment of Court of Fives.
Available now!

Digital Court of Fives novella.
Available now!

Digital Court of Fives prequel.
Available now

More »

Social Media

NEWSLETTER: CLICK HERE to sign up for my newsletter

BRIGHT THRONES -- Available Now!

   Set between Poisoned Blade and Buried Heart in the Court of Fives trilogy, BRIGHT THRONES is a digital
   exclusive companion novella available for purchase and download now!

   "Bettany has always been an outsider in her family: the angry one, the wild one, the daughter who refused
   to accept the dominance of her Patron father’s people over her Commoner mother’s. When her family is
   torn apart by a vengeful lord, Bettany makes a dangerous choice to accompany their household servants
   being transported to the mines, hoping she can keep them from suffering a fate worse than death. Their
   only chance lies with a stuffy foreign doctor who may be able to help them escape, but can Bettany trust
   him? Her instincts tell her there is much more to this man than meets the eye.

   Find out what happened to Jessamy’s missing twin sister in this Court of Fives companion novella!"

   BRIGHT THRONES is available digitally through Little, Brown Books for Young Readers via Amazon, Barnes
   and Noble
, iBooks, Google Play, and Kobo.


The third and final installment of the Court of Fives trilogy, BURIED HEART, will be released July 25, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. Check out the cover and more at Bustle.

"In Buried Heart, the country in disarray, as the Commoner class are in the midst of a revolt against their Patron overlords. But the real enemy is approaching from foreign lands, and Jessamy must find a way to unite the country and save the people she loves. In this thrilling conclusion to the trilogy, Jessamy finds herself in a war against her beloved Prince Kalliarkos."

Poisoned Blade

  The sequel to Court of Fives is now available:

   "In this thrilling sequel to World Fantasy Award finalist Kate
   Elliott's captivating young adult debut, a girl immersed in
   high-stakes competition holds the fate of a kingdom in her

   Now a Challenger, Jessamy is moving up the ranks of the Fives--the
   complex athletic contest favored by the lowliest Commoners and the
   loftiest Patrons alike. Pitted against far more formidable adversaries,
   success is Jes's only option, as her prize money is essential to keeping
   her hidden family alive. She leaps at the chance to tour the countryside
   and face more competitors, but then a fatal attack on her traveling party
   puts Jes at the center of the war that Lord Kalliarkos--the prince she still
   loves--is fighting against their country's enemies. With a sinister
   overlord watching her every move and Kal's life on the line, Jes must now become more than a Fives champion.... She must become a warrior."

Night Flower

Read new exclusive digital content from Kate Elliott:

NIGHT FLOWER is the digital prequel to her Young Adult debut novel, Court of Fives, focusing on the legendary love story between Jessamy's parents.

Kiya is a Commoner who has just arrived in the bustling city of Saryenia. Esladas is a member of the Patron ruling class and determined to prove himself in the army. His plans are disrupted by the outgoing and beautiful girl who sells him fruit in the market, though, despite the fact that neither of them speaks a word of the others language. Brief conversations and stolen moments together soon become something more, but when their divided cultures clash, Kiya and Esladas must decide if their blossoming love is worth becoming outsiders for the rest of their lives.


Black Wolves

Set in the same world as Kate Elliott's Crossroads trilogy, but the first of a new standalone epic series, BLACK WOLVES is now available.
An exiled captain returns to help the son of the king who died under his protection in this rich and multi-layered first book in an action-packed new series.

Twenty two years have passed since Kellas, once Captain of the legendary Black Wolves, lost his King and with him his honor. With the King murdered and the Black Wolves disbanded, Kellas lives as an exile far from the palace he once guarded with his life.

Until Marshal Dannarah, sister to the dead King, comes to him with a plea-rejoin the palace guard and save her nephew, King Jehosh, before he meets his father's fate.

Combining the best of Shogun and Vikings, Black Wolves is an unmissable treat for epic fantasy lovers everywhere.

Read more at the BLACK WOLVES main page.


Court of Fives

Kate Elliott's Young Adult novel debut is out now!

In this imaginative escape into an enthralling new world, World Fantasy Award finalist Kate Elliott's first young adult novel weaves an epic story of a girl struggling to do what she loves in a society suffocated by rules of class and privilege.

Jessamy's life is a balance between acting like an upper class Patron and dreaming of the freedom of the Commoners. But at night she can be whoever she wants when she sneaks out to train for The Fives, an intricate, multi-level athletic competition that offers a chance for glory to the kingdom's best competitors. Then Jes meets Kalliarkos, and an unlikely friendship between a girl of mixed race and a Patron boy causes heads to turn. When a scheming lord tears Jes's family apart, she'll have to test Kal's loyalty and risk the vengeance of a powerful clan to save her mother and sisters from certain death.

Available NOW at your local independent bookstore, Indiebound, Barnes & Noble, Amazon, and other online and bricks and mortar stores! Reviews and more at the COURT OF FIVES main page. You can also read an official excerpt from the novel.

The Secret History of Beatrice Hassi Barahal

An illustrated short story set in the world of the Spiritwalker Trilogy
(artwork by Hugo Award-winning artist Julie Dillon!):

For years as she grew out of innocent childhood and into budding womanhood, Beatrice Hassi Barahal had imagined a kiss.
In a secret journal she wrote about her heartfelt longings and intimate adventures.
Unfortunately, despite her best efforts, the journal did not remain secret.
You can read it now. And you won’t be the only one who did.

Ordering information: The PDF version ($3.50) is available via Gumroad. Email me if you have any problems (check your spam/junk folder as sometimes the pdf gets routed there).
For the print version (limited copies available at $7.00 plus shipping), email me.

BONUS! You can purchase color prints of two fabulous pieces of art by Hugo-award-winning Julie Dillon
"Amazons" and "Dragon" (based on scenes from Cold Steel, Spiritwalker #3) at her INPRNT shop.

The Novels of the Jaran, the Highroad Trilogy, & The Labyrinth Gate in ebook editions!

Open Road Media has my backlist in ebook. Available worldwide!